Why Can’t I Live in a Jane Austen Novel? 

Is there ever going to be a day where I’ll want to stop living in a fictional world? There are many worlds I would love to live in. Who wouldn’t want to live in Narnia or attend Hogwarts? 

If there is a world I would love to live in, it would be a Jane Austen novel. I would love it if I could find my own Mr. Darcy. Why him? I ask myself that question many times. Why go for the jerk? Well, he was a jerk at the beginning. His pride taking over. But, who doesn’t have pride? Everyone is guilty of it at some point. If it’s not Darcy, it’s Captain Wentworth. Reunited love, another favorite of mine. 

I always love when people remind me that women were not equals or the fact there were germs everywhere. Yes, I do think about that. I would miss my shower, baths, you name it. But, if I was born in that time I’m sure I would be fine. Right? Hopefully. 

I’m sure I’m not alone in this. At least I hope so. But escaping the real world for the fictional world is a great way to escape expectations one faces. Not caring what people might think. I can be who I want to be. Maybe I want to see things through the main character or maybe just be a character on the side lines. 

Now I’m thinking I should escape the real world tonight before the work week. Maybe escape into the world of War and Peace.

Leave a Reply

