Happy Belated Birthday Jane

1265

I meant to post this yesterday. Yesterday was Jane Austen’s birthday. She has always been my all-time favorite author. Obviously, it’s been years since she passed away. She would have been 243 if she were maybe a vampire?  

Every year on her birthday, I read something of hers. Rather it’s a chapter from Pride and Prejudice, her letters, prayers, etc. I also watch a movie. Before bed, I watched the 2005 version of Pride and Prejudice. I could have watched the 1995 version, but it was 11:00 at night when I started the movie. I didn’t think it would be a good idea to watch the 1995 version if I wanted to sleep.

This year, I couldn’t help but realize I’m almost two years away from being the age she was when she passed away. Right now, I’m freaking out about turning thirty-nine. But, in reality, I know it’s still young. Austen was young when she passed away.

No matter the new authors I experience, I think she will always be my favorite author. I’ve come across a lot. But, I always come back to Austen. I read all her books almost every year. Sometimes I read Pride and Prejudice a few times a year.

I think I might have to continue a Jane Austen night. It is still early. I could watch the 1995 version of Pride and Prejudice. But, I could always watch another movie. So many decisions. What to do, what to do.

But either way, Happy Belated Birthday Jane Austen!

Leave a comment