One Year Left

keep-calm-i-m-only-39-years-oldWell, this morning I said goodbye to thirty-eight and hello, to thirty-nine. Am, I ready for the last year of my thirties? Yes, and no. The thirties weren’t bad, but not as exciting as my twenties. I am looking forward to my forties in the sense that maybe I’ll be happier in that decade. At least compared to my thirties. I had goals in my thirties that I never accomplished. But, maybe the forties I will?

Again, I’m not saying my thirties were bad. It just wasn’t my favorite decade in my life so far. I think we all go through that. I know some who weren’t a fan of their twenties, but loved their thirties.

I decided for my thirty-nine self, I’m only going to have a few goals. Goals that will get me where I want to be. Where I would like to see my future self. There is one goal, I’m still hoping for. But, at this point in my life. I’ve given up on that.  Am I okay with giving up? Yes, and no. But time will fix that. And if it happens, awesome.

Not doing anything too exciting for my birthday. I took today off from work. I got to sleep in and have a lazy morning. Which, I loved.  I do have my book exchange party with my book club tonight. I look forward to those every year to see what new book I get. We all have different tastes, so it’s always fun to get a book I might not pick up.

After book club, I plan on just getting into my pj’s and my new Star Wars snuggie thanks to the bestie. Hopefully, curl up with the sequel to Hocus Pocus. This book, I’m definitely struggling with. The first half of the book was good. It was the first movie. The second half where the kids are now grown up? Yeah, I’m having trouble with this part.

In sad news as I was writing this. My phone alerted me about Penny Marshal’s death. So sad. I grew up watching her.  She will be missed.

Leave a comment